Texas Weather – It is crazy!

I am trying to keep up with my blogging goal so I sat down to write a post last night.  At the moment, I really did not have anything to write…nothing that would interest anyone else anyway.  I mean I am tired, I have a sore throat, spent the day working, spent the night working on plans for Miss Claire’s 2nd birthday party.  I really don’t think anyone would care about any of that stuff.  Kinda boring…

So in a conversation with Amber today, when I was telling her about my sore throat she made the point that no wonder we get sick, the weather here is insane!  If you have not lived in Texas before, it is very hard to explain this.  It was literally in the 60’s the other day, nice and sunny.  Today it is 17 degrees and snowing!!  What the heck??  Not only does this weather make you sick, mess with your allergies and confuse the little children, but it makes dressing up hard.  Really.  What do you wear when you go to work in the morning and it is 33 and then you leave and it is warm??  We couldn’t take pictures for our website this week because of this crazy weather.  We have clothes for SPRING (it is coming right??) Our model would freeze her skinny booty off and as the photographer, I need to invest in some finger-less gloves!  I heard that the groundhog saw his shadow which means more winter, but I am hoping and praying that spring will be here soon!  The heater went out at our house the other night and when we woke up our drafty, old, mid-century house was 50 degrees.  That is too cold for me indoors!  When you get out of the shower you feel like an icicle. We live in Texas, we are acclimated to it being 110 in the summer (which I also don’t care for!).  I see these TV shows based in California and the weather looks so beautiful there, so perfect.  I love Texas, but I do not LOVE this crazy weather!   Not only are we tired of being cold, we are tired of wearing black and grey.  I am sure there are people up north that know this much better than me. I can’t even imagine, I think I would be a hermit if I lived in some of those states that have solid cold and snow for months on end.

So I did some “research” and by research I mean that I googled it…how do you transition your wardrobe from winter to spring?  I have compiled these tips for people like us. People who live in a place where the weather is slightly bi-polar.  Real women who need sensible fashion (not couture) and who live on a budget. Budget is not as ugly as a word as it sounds, it is smart and responsible 🙂

1. Layers – Layers are great!  Especially if your office is freezing like mine.  They are also great at camouflaging parts of your body that maybe you don’t love 🙂 It is also a great way to buy something that you can use over several seasons and with different outfits.  You can layer a lightweight cardigan that is perfect for spring and then just take it off if it gets too warm.

Spring Layers

Spring Layers

2. Add some color – skinny jeans, camisoles, bold chunky jewelry.  I think this year I might invest in a nice pair of pastel color skinny jeans. I personally do not wear skinny jeans without a tunic style shirt to cover my backside so I think this white cardigan is perfect.  It is a great way to wear jeans and transition to spring.  Pair it with a bright accessory and some neutral flats and you are ready!

Pops of Color

Pops of Color

3. Introduce print and textures – Amber and I are TIRED of buying Gray 😦  You want it in fall and winter, but we are done!  I am also getting a little tired of the Aztec prints in the dark colors.  Brighten up your wardrobe with a bright print, stripes, lace, tribal embroidery, ikat, sheer textures and fringe.  Just putting on these fresh prints will make you feel better!

Spring Prints and Textures

Spring Prints and Textures

4. Bright Accessories – Add some spring color with a bag, statement jewelry or lightweight scarf.  It is a great way to transition your wardrobe without spending a ton of money.  You could invest in one good piece like the Kendra Scott necklace  or Tory Burch bag pictured here and then pair it with a bright scarf or bag from Target and a top from Keller & Claire!

Spring Accessories

Spring Accessories

5. Shoes for Spring – time to put away the fleece lined and tall riding boots, get a pedicure and pull out the bright colored flats, sandals and wedges.  I used to LOVE high heels, I am barely over 5’1″ so I felt like I needed it! Well, 2 knee surgeries later and a toddler to chase after means that I now I love a good wedge and some flat sandals!  The best part is the sandals transition well into summer so they are worth the splurge.  Every year I find a great pair of sandals at Target though for less than $20! Amber said you can always find great shoes at TJ Maxx so check that out too!

Step into Spring
Step into Spring

6. Maxi dresses and skirts – This is favorite of mine because it is so easy to wear and comfy!  You can wear a maxi to work, Saturday errands, birthday parties, church or even date night.  Just dress it up or down with your shoes and accessories. And as a bonus, these seem to stay in style, year after year.

Spring Maxis

Spring Maxis

Hopefully you can use some of the tips, even if you are from a state that has a way to go until it thaws out!

What are some things that you like to do transition your wardrobe?  Share your tips in the comments for other readers! We would love to hear what people in other states do!!

Happy Shopping!

Leave a comment